musicoftheborder

Just another WordPress.com site

Imperfect Harmonies (and Remixes) is Ironic

with 2 comments

The title is not lost on me folks. The 2010 album, and 2011 remix album, of former System of a Down lead singer, Armenian-born Serj Tankian, is an abomination of good music. It is quite apparent, albeit covered by heavy autotune and loud instruments in the remixes, that Tankian can sing about as well as an American Idol reject that makes you cry from laughing so hard. However, I don’t know what’s worse, the voice that can break glass or the lyrics that are so shallow, all you here are the same words time and time again. New track “Godd*** Trigger” sounds like something straight from a horror movie, which is funny, because I was horrified and might have nightmares from listening to this EP. The only song I heard a distinct improvement on, and I use that term lightly, was “Goodbye-Gate 21,” where there were more guitar solos, which meant less singing. This was also the song that, if you know nothing about music, Tankian might actually sound good to you. If paired with a different songwriter, the lyrics could’ve been good given the overall themes of the songs. I have never listened to System of a Down, nor do I care much for their style of music, and it has become quite clear after hearing Tankian’s voice, I never will. If you care enough to subject yourself to it, I have supplied you with some Youtube clips of the songs on these albums. Listen for yourself, if you dare.

Goodbye-Gate 21: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZobdNXT0Za0

Deserving?: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FmlpjTWru7o   

Written by smschira

January 23, 2012 at 3:59 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ido not know whether it’s jjust me or iff perhaps everybody else encountering problems with your blog.
    It seems like some of the text in yor posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know
    if this is happening to them too? This might be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Thank you

    india banking events

    July 2, 2014 at 5:03 pm

    • I have double-checked my screen to see if there was a problem and everything looks correct to me. Maybe try a different browser. Thanks for the feedback. How do you like what you can read of my posts? I haven’t written any new posts in a long time, I’ve been busy with school. Here is the current blog I’ve been working on, it’s not all about music unfortunately. http://socialroller.wordpress.com/

      smschira

      July 2, 2014 at 9:03 pm


Leave a Reply

